TJ Harvey

Your member of parliament for


TJ Harvey

Your member of parliament for



National Liberal Rural Caucus Wraps up Summer Caucus Meeting in New Brunswick


National Liberal Rural Caucus – For immediate release: 30 August 2017

National Liberal Rural Caucus Wraps up Summer Caucus Meeting in New Brunswick

Members of the National Liberal Rural Caucus, from coast to coast concluded their summer caucus meeting yesterday in New Brunswick. The Caucus gathered advance of the fall session of parliament to discuss the unique issues facing their constituents from across rural Canada.

The three-day meetings were centered on rural economic development in various sectors including innovation and connectivity, agriculture and natural resources, and tourism. Over the weekend, members of National Liberal Rural Caucus were joined in their discussions by the Hon. Laurence MacAulay, Hon. Bill Morneau, visitor. They also engaged with a variety of local experts and stakeholders from various sectors, including small business, innovation and technology and connectivity, natural resources, agriculture, aquaculture and tourism. The Caucus wishes to thank all those that participated in these productive discussions.

Members of National Liberal Rural Caucus are committed to continuing to engage on the important issues discussed over the course of their three days of meetings. As they return to Ottawa for the fall session, they will seek to continue to advocate for Rural Canadians from coast to coast to coast.


“I was privileged to host my National Liberal Rural Caucus colleagues in my riding of Tobique-Mactaquac. Great things are happening in rural communities across the country. Highlighting the innovation, small business, strategic partnerships, and rural tourism opportunities through stakeholder meetings and presentations provided an opportunity to collaborate on the rural issues that matter to Canadians. We will continue to engage and work on behalf of rural Canadians to build on successes while recognizing the hard work ahead in terms of flexibility for rural infrastructure needs and the importance of economic development in rural communities from coast to coast to coast. Representing the interests of Canadians from rural communities will remain a top priority of National Liberal Rural Caucus going into this Fall session.”

TJ Harvey, MP

Chair, Rural Caucus

Member of Parliament for Tobique-Mactaquac

Quick Facts

  • National Liberal Rural Caucus comprises Members of Parliament from rural ridings across Canada.
  • Rural Caucus represents a diversity of opinion from across the country on rural issues and opportunities.
  • Of the 338 Members of Parliament in the House of Commons, 157 represent rural ridings across Canada.
  • Rural Caucus acts as a voice to represent the interests of rural Canadians.

Participating stakeholders:

F6 Networks, Resson, South Ridge Maple Co. Ltd., Multicultural Association of Carleton County, Groupe Westco, Local Valley Beef, Strawberry Hill Farm, Covered Bridge Chips, McCain Potato Processing Technology Centre, Potato World, Adair’s Wilderness Lodge, Red Rock Adventure, Albert County Museum and Tourism Association, Cooke Aquaculture Inc. Fundy Biosphere Reserve, GE Barbour Inc., Agropur Dairy Cooperative, Maritime Innovation, Sussex Beard Oil, Big Axe Brewery, Wood Worth, Picaroons Brewery, Skedaddle Maple.









Members of National Liberal Rural Caucus:

Top row, left to right: TJ Harvey, Chair; Pat Finnigan, Hon. Robert Nault, Neil Ellis, Jean-Claude Poissant, Francis Drouin

Bottom row, left to right: Will Amos, Vice-Chair; Brenda Shanahan, Robert Morrissey, Marc Serré, Vice Chair; Alaina Lockhart, Rene Arseneault, Paul Lefebvre, Gudie Hutchings, Nick Whalen.

Left to right:

Neil Ellis, Hon. Maryam Monsef, Will Amos, Vice Chair; Jati Sidhu, Marc Serré, Vice Chair; Alaina Lockhart,           Hon. Robert Nault, Francis Drouin, TJ Harvey, Chair; Jean-Claude Poissant.

For more information on National Liberal Rural Caucus contact the office of TJ Harvey, Member of Parliament: 1.800.671.6160 / 506.392.5807.

Media Contact:

Courtenay Brennan

Media & Communications EA

TJ Harvey, M.P. Tobique-Mactaquac

506.392.5805 / 506.245.1972